Bretton Woods system : ブレトン・ウッズ体制

The Bretton Woods system of monetary management established the rules for commercial and financial relations among the United States, Canada, Western Europe, Australia, and Japan after the 1944 Bretton Woods Agreement. The Bretton Woods system was the first example of a fully negotiated monetary order intended to govern monetary relations among independent states. The chief features of the Bretton Woods system were an obligation for each country to adopt a monetary policy that maintained its external exchange rates within 1 percent by tying its currency to gold and the ability of the IMF to bridge temporary imbalances of payments. Also, there was a need to address the lack of cooperation among other countries and to prevent competitive devaluation of the currencies as well.

Preparing to rebuild the international economic system while World War II was still raging, 730 delegates from all 44 Allied nations gathered at the Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, United States, for the United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference, also known as the Bretton Woods Conference. The delegates deliberated during 1–22 July 1944, and signed the Bretton Woods agreement on its final day. Setting up a system of rules, institutions, and procedures to regulate the international monetary system, these accords established the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), which today is part of the World Bank Group. The United States, which controlled two thirds of the world’s gold, insisted that the Bretton Woods system rest on both gold and the US dollar. Soviet representatives attended the conference but later declined to ratify the final agreements, charging that the institutions they had created were “branches of Wall Street”. These organizations became operational in 1945 after a sufficient number of countries had ratified the agreement.

On 15 August 1971, the United States unilaterally terminated convertibility of the US dollar to gold, effectively bringing the Bretton Woods system to an end and rendering the dollar a fiat currency. This action, referred to as the Nixon shock, created the situation in which the US dollar became a reserve currency used by many states. At the same time, many fixed currencies (such as the pound sterling) also became free-floating.

ブレトン・ウッズ協定 (Bretton Woods Agreements)とは、第二次世界大戦後半の1944年7月、アメリカ合衆国のニューハンプシャー州ブレトン・ウッズで開かれた連合国通貨金融会議(45ヵ国参加)で締結され、1945年に発効した国際金融機構についての協定である。「アメリカ合衆国ドルを基軸とした固定為替相場制」であり、1オンス35USドルと金兌換によってアメリカのドルと各国の通貨の交換比率(為替相場)を一定に保つことによって自由貿易を発展させ、世界経済を安定させる仕組みであった。この体制は1971年のニクソンショックまで続き、戦後の西側諸国の経済の復興を支えた。この協定に基づいて確立した体制のことをブレトン・ウッズ体制(Bretton Woods System)という。

国際通貨基金(IMF)、国際復興開発銀行(IBRD)の設立を決定したこれらの組織を中心とする体制である。この協定は1929年の世界大恐慌により1930年代に各国がブロック経済圏をつくって二度目の世界大戦をまねいた反省によっているだけでなく、第二次世界大戦で疲弊・混乱した世界経済を安定化させる目的があった。そのため具体的には国際的協力による通貨価値の安定、貿易振興、開発途上国の開発を行い自由で多角的な世界貿易体制をつくるため為替相場の安定が計られた。IMFについては、イギリスのケインズ案とアメリカのハリー・ホワイト案が英米両国の間で討議され、ホワイト案に近いものとなった。その際、ドルを世界の基軸通貨として、金1オンスを35USドルと定め、そのドルに対し各国通貨の交換比率を定めた(金本位制)。この固定相場制のもとで、日本円はGHQ統治体制初期の輸出・輸入通貨レート等が異なる複数レートから、円外国為替政策に関する特別使節団 (ヤング使節団)の提案する単一1米ドル=330円レート案(ヤングレポート 1948年6月)を元に、その後の日本の物価上昇を反映しつつも、何故か英ポンド約30%切り下げ及びその連鎖切り下げを反映することなく定められた単一1米ドル=360円レート制(1949年4月25日施行)がそのまま、占領終了(1952年4月28日)後の、1952年の日本のIMFおよび世銀へ加盟に伴う、翌年のIMF平価申請になってIMFに採用され、この1米ドル=360円(変動幅±1%)に固定された。 この体制下で西側諸国は、史上類を見ない高度成長を実現。特に、日本は1950年代から1970年代初めにかけて高度経済成長を実現し「東洋の奇跡」とよばれた。




Leave a Reply